Thursday, 30 May 2013

Oatmeal and gluten intolerance?

FACTS: Gluten intolerance

A little bit of information for those gluten intolerant people:) Hopefully concise and easy to understand!

What is gluten?: 
A substance present in cereal grains, esp. wheat, that is responsible for the elastic texture of dough, much like glue. It is a difficult protein for our bodies to digest and can cause shortening of villi in our intestinal track preventing nutrient absorption (just one disadvantage of how it hurts our bodies)

Oats do not naturally contain gluten, getting the gluten free ones ensure they haven't been contaminated if your highly allergic such as celiac disease, which causes things like chronic bloating and bleeding of the bowels. 

But!!! They do contain proteins called Prolamines, specifically the avenin protein. If your sensitive to Prolamine in wheat and other grains, it's highly likely that your body doesn't respond that well to oatmeal.

Prolamines that make up grains:

Wheat (gliadin)
Barley (hordein)
Rye (secalin)
Corn (zein)
Oats (avenin)

So note to self, if you are gluten free yet seem to be getting bloating, breakouts, dermatitis or eczema, and the list goes on! Try oat free as well:)

However, normally gluten intolerance is based on the quantity consumed. If  you don't exceed what is comfortable for your body you shouldn't get negative symptoms. Remember the saying to much of anything is bad for you... Well this strongly applies when it comes to gluten intolerance! Most of us eat way to much bread and cereal.

Gabby xoxo

No comments:

Post a Comment